On Air Chris Keen on the Vibe 1 Weekend Chris looks after Saturday afternoons with great music & chat on the Vibe Weekend Email 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Now Playing Lizzo Juice (Clean) Download
Listen Live Listen

The General Election July 4th - local boundary changes.

The biggest boundary change in Staffordshire has involved the old Stone constituency, which is effectively split four ways.

The new (and controversial) Stone, Great Wyrley and Penkridge seat, which stretches half the length of the county, only includes a small part of the old Stone constituency - the town of Stone itself and part of Milwich ward.

The rest of the constituency is made up of wards that were previously part of the Stafford and South Staffordshire seats.

Lapley, Stretton and Wheaton Aston; Penkridge North and Acton Trussell; Penkridge South and Gailey; Haywood and Hixon; Milford; and part of Milwich have been transferred from Stafford.

Brewood, Coven and Blymhill; Cheslyn Hay Village; Essington; Featherstone, Shareshill and Saredon; Great Wyrley Landywood; Great Wyrley Town; and Huntington and Hatherton have all been moved from South Staffordshire.


While Stafford has lost several wards to the new Stone, Great Wyrley and Penkridge constituency, it has also gained a number of wards which were previously part of Stone: Eccleshall; Gnosall and Woodseaves; part of Seighford and Church Eaton; Loggerheads; and Maer and Whitmore.

Burton and Uttoxeter

The name of the seat has been changed from Burton, but the boundaries are exactly the same as before.

Cannock Chase

No boundary changes.


The only change is that part of the Hammerwich with Wall ward has been moved from Tamworth.


Similarly, the only change to Tamworth is that part of Whittington and Streethay ward has been transferred from Lichfield. 


Because the Black Country was paired in a sub-region with Staffordshire for the allocation, two seats cross the boundary between them to even out the populations.

The seat of Stone, Great Wyrley and Penkridge snakes its way from mid-Staffordshire to the north of Walsall borough.

And Kingswinford has been matched up with the rest of south Staffordshire.

Stoke-on-Trent's three constituencies remain, with some changes between them, and Stafford retains its seat, though its borders move north.

Newcastle, Lichfield, Uttoxeter, Cannock Chase and the Moorlands keep their constituencies, again with changes to some patches.

The forthcoming General Election on July 4 is a pivotal moment for Britain after 14 years of government by the Conservative Party. The last full parliamentary election was in December 2019.

The biggest boundary change in Staffordshire has involved the old Stone constituency, which is effectively split four ways.